Historians Against the War

Sign the Statement

HAW Conference

Speakers Bureau

Press Releases and Statements

Virtual Movement Archive


Teaching Resources

GI Resistance

Civil Liberties and Academic Freedom


Join our Listserv

Download HAW images


About us / Contact us

Friday, April 12, 2013

[haw-info] "New Faces of War" conference last weekend

To members and friends of Historians Against the War,

We're glad to report that the third HAW national conference, "The New Faces of War," held in Baltimore last weekend (April 5-7), was a success.
About 150 people attended, slightly more than at our last conference (2008 in Atlanta); it was a congenial mix of historians, other scholars (including several panels of graduate students), and nonacademic peace activists.  We got a lot of enthusiastic feedback from attendees.

Plenary speakers were Alfred McCoy, Ann Wright, Rashid Khalidi, Nick Turse, John Prados, and Carolyn Eisenberg.  Twenty different breakout panels and workshops took place.  Some of the papers will soon be posted on the conference website (http://www.historiansagainstwar.org/conf2013), as will video- or audiotapes of several of the sessions.  We'll send another notice out when this has been done.

A major reason for the conference's success was the greater-than-expected response that we received to two fund appeals that we sent to the HAW mailing list prior to the conference.  We would like to acknowledge with thanks the donations we received from the following people (current members of the HAW Steering Committee are not included in this list):  Ben Alpers, Paul Atwood, Bill Barry, Dick Bennett, Cyrus Bina, Paul Buhle, Daniel Czitrom, Geoff Eley, Steve Gosch, Tom Grace, Carmen Hernandez, David Hunt, Davis Joyce, Sandy Kelson, Jeffrey Kerr-Ritchie, Scott Laderman, Jerry Lembcke, Leslie Lomas, John Marciano, Beth McKillen, Maria Mitchell, Roger Peace, Gail Radford, Susan Reverby, Elizabeth Sanders, Ellen Schrecker, Lewis Seigelbaum, Rupa Shah, Andor Skotnes, Alonzo Smith, Judy Smith, Ted Steinberg, Susie Strasser, and James Young.  Thanks!

Jim O'Brien
co-chair of HAW


Post a Comment

<< Home